Leo Burnett Chicago, BBDO New York Win Top National ADDY® Awards

June 15, 2015

For more information, contact:
Greg Branch, (989) 284-4063, gbranch@ampminc.com
George Riddell, (206) 696-5195, george@bighouseproduction.com
Joanne Schecter, (702) 463-1581, jschecter@aaf.org                              

Leo Burnett Chicago, BBDO New York Win Top National ADDY® Awards

LAS VEGAS — Leo Burnett Chicago has won Best of Show in the 2015 American Advertising Awards national competition for its “Unthink Magritte” campaign for the Art Institute of Chicago, while BBDO New York earned a special judge’s award for “HORSE With Harden,” an interactive campaign for Footlocker.

Ihsuan Yeh of the Academy of Art University in San Francisco won student Best of Show for “Fare Share,” a campaign built around a smartphone app that allows users to donate change from transit fares to a nonprofit serving the homeless. Tim Wen of the University of Southern California won a special judge’s award for “Escape,” a short film about children and domestic violence.

“Unthink Magritte” helped promote an exhibit of the works of the surrealist artist by upsetting the conventions of a traditional art exhibit. The campaign included a phone app, a three-dimensional art installation and environmental advertising that explored the “unthink” theme. It even sought to overcome the cost barrier of art exhibits, offering admission to patrons who created works of surrealistic art – which then became part of the exhibit.

The BBDO campaign for Footlocker created an opportunity for people to play the basketball shot-matching game HORSE against Houston Rockets star James Harden. Players submitted their shots via social media. Harden then matched the shots, which were captured on video and fed to social media.

The Footlocker campaign was one of 17 gold ADDY Awards and 10 silvers for BBDO New York. Among its other Gold ADDY winners were:

  • “The Last Pack,” an interactive campaign for the CVS pharmacy chain that encouraged people to quit smoking. It was built to coincide with CVS’ removal of tobacco products from its shelves.
  • “Tap Thru,” which built upon its previous work for the Lowe’s home improvement chain on the Vine media sharing platform. The campaign uses Vine’s “pause” feature to create 10-step “how to” videos within Vine’s six-second format.
  • “Whatever Happens,” an integrated campaign for Anheuser-Bush Bud Light in which a random participant’s acceptance of a free Bud Light led to a night that included parties, table tennis with Arnold Schwarzenegger and a llama.
  • “Mars Bites,” introducing bite-sized versions of popular Mars candy bars.
  • “Ideas,” “Childlike Imagination” and “Enhance Your Lighting” for General Electric.
  • A Hallowe’en-themed campaign that created “can costumes” for Campbell’s Soup.
  • “All Runners Welcome,” print and poster campaigns for Footlocker.
  • A television campaign for one-rate shipping for FedEx.

Besides the “Unthink Magritte” campaign, Leo Burnett Chicago won five golds and five silvers. Its other Gold ADDY winners included:

  • “Like a Girl,” branded content for Procter & Gamble’s Always brand which contrasts what “like a girl” means to adults and to young girls.
  • “Save 30,” a campaign in which Esurance “saved” $1.5 million by buying a commercial after the Super Bowl – and awarded it in a social media sweepstakes.
  • A bus shelter designed to look like a Happy Meal box for McDonald’s.

Other major winners in the National competition were GSD&M, Austin, with one Gold and six Silver ADDY Awards and VML, Kansas City, with five Gold and three Silver ADDY Awards.

National ADDY Award Winners were honored Saturday, June 13 at the American Advertising Awards ceremony, the closing event of ADMERICA 2015, the AAF’s annual national conference. The winners were selected from more than 39,000 entries nationally and won at local and regional levels before advancing to the national competition.

The jury for on-site judging in Washington, DC included:

  • Claire Morrisey, creative director, 72 and Sunny
  • Keith Goldberg, chief creative officer, Rally
  • Stanley Yorker, creative director, GlobalHue,
  • Matt Fera, creative director, McGarry Bowen
  • Lauren Connolly, executive creative director, BBDO
  • Olga Reyes, executive creative director, Lopez Negrete
  • Alan Shen, associate creative director, Leo Burnett

Interactive judges included:

  • Michelle Tucker, group creative director, Havas Worldwide
  • Kevin Tenglin, creative director, TBWA
  • Whitney Jenkins, CD, AKQA
  • Brian Adams, executive creative director, Resource/Ammirati
  • Eduardo Bono, creative director, Discovery Channel
  • Melissa Healy, creative director, Digital-LBI

For a complete list of winners, visit http://winners.americanadvertisingawards.com/awards2015/

For more information on the competition, visit http://www.americanadvertisingawards.com/.

The American Advertising Federation is the nation’s oldest national advertising trade association, and the only association representing all facets of the advertising industry: advertisers, agencies, media and suppliers. Headquartered in Washington, D.C., AAF acts as the “Unifying Voice for Advertising.” Its membership includes corporate members comprising some of the nation’s leading advertisers, advertising agencies, and media companies; a national network of more than 170 local federations, representing 40,000 advertising professionals, located in ad communities across the country; and more than 200 AAF college chapters, with over 6,500 student members.


AAF National News

Get In Touch

Please enable JavaScript in your browser to complete this form.