2020 National Student Advertising Competition Winner Announced

The University of Virginia Wins 1st Place in the 2020 AAF National Student Advertising Competition Sponsored by Adobe
Adobe selected the winner of the competition’s first-ever B2B challenge.
WASHINGTON DC, JUNE 9, 2020—Adobe and the American Advertising Federation (AAF) are pleased to announce that the University of Virginia is the winner of the AAF’s 2020 National Student Advertising Competition (NSAC).The National Student Advertising Competition is the premier college advertising competition that provides college students the real-world experience of creating a strategic advertising, marketing and media campaign for a corporate client. Students develop a marketing plan and then pitch their work to advertising professionals at the district, semi-final and national levels.

“Sponsoring the NSAC for 2020 has been an amazing journey. COVID-19 didn’t stop the students from delivering great campaigns. We gave the students a complicated B2B technology project, and they came back with big ideas and great research that we can use today. Best of all, the students who actually dug into learning about the ad tech category are now more prepared than half the industry. Win for us and for them,” stated Adam Morgan, Adobe’s Executive Creative Director.

In addition to developing a challenging B2B campaign, this was the first time in the NSAC’s 46-year history that the entire competition took place virtually. In the spring, as universities evacuated mid-semester, students seamlessly pivoted to the online NSAC platform that was implemented, allowing them to continue with the competition from all over the world.

The NSAC second-place award went to Texas State University and the third-place award went to The University of Missouri. Other finalists include Chapman University, East Tennessee State University, Florida State University, Grand Valley State University, Marian University and University of Oregon.

In addition to the national title, prizes were awarded by two of the NSAC’s research partners in recognition of the exceptional work throughout the competition. SalesFuel awarded The University of Missouri the Best Research Award and the University of Virginia was honored with the Inspired by Insight Award by MRI/Simmons Research. In addition, Kyle Fiene from the University of Oregon, received the AAF District 7’s Best Presenter Award.

For more information about the National Student Advertising Competition, please contact Laura Roha at lroha@aaf.org, or, visit aaf.org to learn more.

About the American Advertising FederationEstablished in 1905, the American Advertising Federation (AAF), acts as the “Unifying Voice for Advertising.” Its membership is comprised of more than 75 corporate members made up of the nation’s leading advertisers, agencies, and media companies; a national network of nearly 164 local clubs representing 30,000 advertising professionals; and more than 170+ college chapters with 4,000 student members. The AAF operates a host of programs and initiatives, including Advertising Day on the Hill, the Advertising Hall of Fame, the Advertising Hall of Achievement, the American Advertising Awards, the National Student Advertising Competition, the Mosaic Awards, the Most Promising Multicultural Students Program and AdCamp for high school students. Follow us on social media: FacebookTwitterInstagram and LinkedIn.


AAF National NewsPress Releases

Get In Touch

Please enable JavaScript in your browser to complete this form.