AAF National Legislative Alert Urgent – Advertising Deductibility

October 12, 2017
Time is getting short. The time for you to act is now! Congressional tax writers are discussing the specifics of the tax reform bill “ including a possible tax on advertising” this week.  If your Representative is a member of the House Ways and Means Committee, or one of your Senators is on the Finance Committee, I implore you to contact them now and urge them to oppose any effort to change the tax status of advertising.

Members of the Committees are listed below and link to their websites where messages can be left.  I also urge you to contact their primary tax advisors.

If your Representative or Senators are not on the tax writing committees, please contact them and ask that they speak to their colleagues on the committees and urge them to leave advertising alone. Contact information for your Senators can be found here and Representatives here.

The goal of tax reform is to grow the economy.  A tax on advertising “a primary engine of that growth” would undermine that goal and be counter productive.  According to studies designed by a Nobel winning economist a tax on advertising must be opposed because:

  • Advertising is the engine of the U.S. economy and generates $5.8 trillion in economic activity
  • Advertising supports 20 million American jobs
  • Every $1 million spent on advertising supports 67 jobs across American industries
  • Every advertising job supports 34 jobs across other industries.

Time is of the essence.  I urge you to contact your Senators and Representatives today!

Do not hesitate to contact me if you have any questions and please let me know when you have made contact and if you get a response.

Thank you for your support of the advertising industry and the AAF.

House Ways and Means Committee


Kevin BradyTexas’s 8thChairman

Sam JohnsonTexas’s 3rd

Devin NunesCalifornia’s 22nd

Pat TiberiOhio’s 12th

Dave ReichertWashington’s 8th

Peter RoskamIllinois’s 6th

Vern BuchananFlorida’s 16th

Adrian SmithNebraska’s 3rd

Lynn JenkinsKansas’s 2nd

Erik PaulsenMinnesota’s 3rd

Kenny MarchantTexas’s 24th

Diane BlackTennessee’s 6th

Tom ReedNew York’s 23rd

Mike KellyPennsylvania’s 3rd

Jim RenacciOhio’s 16th

Pat MeehanPennsylvania’s 7th

Kristi NoemSouth Dakota’s at-large

George HoldingNorth Carolina’s 2nd

Jason T. SmithMissouri’s 8th

Tom RiceSouth Carolina’s 7th

David SchweikertArizona’s 6th

Jackie WalorskiIndiana’s 2nd

Carlos CurbeloFlorida’s 26th

Mike BishopMichigan’s 8th


Richard NealMassachusetts’s 1stRanking Member

Sander LevinMichigan’s 9thFormer Chairman

John LewisGeorgia’s 5th

Lloyd DoggettTexas’s 35th

Mike ThompsonCalifornia’s 5th

John B. LarsonConnecticut’s 1st

Earl BlumenauerOregon’s 3rd

Ron KindWisconsin’s 3rd

Bill PascrellNew Jersey’s 9th

Joseph CrowleyNew York’s 14th

Danny K. DavisIllinois’s 7th

Linda SánchezCalifornia’s 38th

Brian HigginsNew York’s 26th

Terri SewellAlabama’s 7th

Suzan DelBeneWashington’s 1st

Judy ChuCalifornia’s 27th


Senate Finance Committee



Orrin Hatch, Utah, Chairman

Chuck Grassley, Iowa

Mike Crapo, Idaho

Pat Roberts, Kansas

Mike Enzi, Wyoming

John Cornyn, Texas

John Thune, South Dakota

Richard Burr, North Carolina

Johnny Isakson, Georgia

Rob Portman, Ohio

Pat Toomey, Pennsylvania

Dean Heller, Nevada

Tim Scott, South Carolina

Bill Cassidy, Louisiana


Ron Wyden, Oregon, Ranking Member

Debbie Stabenow, Michigan

Maria Cantwell, Washington

Bill Nelson, Florida

Bob Menendez, New Jersey

Tom Carper, Delaware

Ben Cardin, Maryland

Sherrod Brown, Ohio

Michael Bennet, Colorado

Bob Casey, Pennsylvania

Mark Warner, Virginia

Claire McCaskill, Missouri


Clark Rector
American Advertising Federation
Executive Vice President, Government Affairs


AAF National NewsLegislative Issues

Get In Touch

Please enable JavaScript in your browser to complete this form.