2016 Advertising Hall of Fame Honorees Announced


Honorees Announced for the 67th Annual Advertising Hall of Fame®

The Ad Council, TBWA\Worldwide, Leo Burnett Worldwide, Sedelmaier Films, GSD&M, Condé Nast, Wieden+Kennedy Among Those Honored

Washington, DC (Nov. 20, 2015)Elected by the Advertising Hall of Fame’s distinguished Council of Judges, the American Advertising Federation announced this year’s “magnificent seven” to be inducted into the 2016 Class of the Advertising Hall of Fame.

The Advertising Hall of Fame recognizes the most accomplished and legendary figures in advertising, bringing together the industry to celebrate at one of the biggest nights in advertising. The 67th Advertising Hall of Fame Induction Ceremonies & Gala Dinner will be held the evening of Monday, April 11, 2016, in the Grand Ballroom of New York’s historic Waldorf=Astoria hotel.

“Our Hall of Fame Council of Judges, composed of leaders of advertising and media, advertisers and distinguished Hall of Fame members, was deeply committed to choosing men and women of legendary stature and achievement,” said John B. Osborn, President and CEO of BBDO New York and Chairman of the Advertising Hall of Fame.

This year’s honorees include: Peggy Conlon, Former President and CEO, The Ad Council; Jean-Marie Dru, Chairman, TBWA Agency Network; Carla R. Michelotti, Former Executive Vice President, Chief, Legal Government, Corporate Affairs Officer, Leo Burnett Worldwide; Joe Sedelmaier, Director/Producer/President, Sedelmaier Film Productions; Roy Spence, Co-Founder and Chairman, GSD&M; Charles H. Townsend, CEO, Condé Nast; Dan Wieden, Co-Founder + Chairman, Wieden+Kennedy.

Peggy Conlon will also be presented with the distinguished David Bell Award for Industry Service, awarded to recognize extraordinary and unique contributions and service to the advertising community and industry as a whole. The award is named in honor of David Bell (Hall of Fame Class of 2007), a visionary leader and mentor to several generations of advertising professionals. 

Wenda Harris Millard, President and COO, MediaLink, and Vice Chair of the Advertising Hall of Fame added, “This extraordinary Class of 2016 epitomizes advertising’s lasting impact over time continuing through today, inspiring many more generations to come.” 

For more information on the Advertising Hall of Fame, please contact the AAF at lrubin@aaf.org or (202) 898-0089.

 About the American Advertising Federation

The American Advertising Federation (AAF), the nation’s oldest national advertising trade association, and the only association representing all facets of the advertising industry, is headquartered in Washington, DC, and acts as the “Unifying Voice for Advertising.” The AAF’s membership is comprised of nearly 100 blue chip corporate members comprising the nation’s leading advertisers, advertising agencies, and media companies; a national network of nearly 200 local clubs representing 40,000 advertising professionals; and more than 200 AAF college chapters with more than 5,000 student members. The AAF operates a host of programs and initiatives including the Advertising Hall of Fame, the American Advertising Awards, the National Student Advertising Competition, the Mosaic Center on Multiculturalism, and summer AdCamps for high school students. For more information on the full range of AAF programming, visit membership.aaf.org. For the latest news and updates, connect with us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.


AAF National NewsPress Releases

Get In Touch

Please enable JavaScript in your browser to complete this form.