AAF Nebraska Students Honored

AAF Nebraska Students Honored During the Federation’s Annual Meeting

(Omaha, Neb. – August 16, 2023) – American Advertising Federation Nebraska (AAF Nebraska), honored the 2023 AAF Nebraska outstanding student members during the federation’s annual meeting. Scholarship winners and national student ADDY winners were on August 15th at the Venues at the Granary during AAF Nebraska’s annual meeting.

In 1987, AAF Nebraska established two scholarship funds to honor students attending Creighton University, University of Nebraska Omaha, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, and University of Nebraska at Kearney. Along with these foundation funds over the next 5 years the federation will award additional scholarships.

Earlier this spring Jenna Baird AAF Nebraska’s president shared that “AAF Nebraska is thrilled to support our student members year-over-year. Not only are we providing them with opportunities for their own growth and success, but our scholarship program also serves as a testament to AAF Nebraska’s commitment to foster a diverse and innovative advertising community alongside mentorship, connection and job opportunities here in our state.” Baird mentioned on August 15th to more than 60 attendees during the annual meeting, “We look forward to seeing the impact these individuals will have on the industry and our community in the years to come.”

AAF Nebraska is able to award a total of $11,200 in scholarship funds to outstanding area student members this year.

Eligible students must have completed the first semester of their junior year as an advertising, graphic design, marketing, or communications related major and show great interest in the field of advertising. Selection criteria includes academic performance of a 3.0 grade point average or above and participation in extracurricular activities, including AAF student advertising club involvement such as the Meet the Pros or AdVenture+ educational conferences hosted annually by AAF Nebraska.

AAF Nebraska is pleased to award seven scholarships to the following students:

  • Sarah Lacey-Irvine, Creighton University ($4,200)
  • Emily Bray, University of Nebraska-Lincoln ($1,500)
  • Paige Brophy, University of Nebraska-Lincoln ($1,500)
  • Amalia Hidalgo, Union College ($1,500)
  • Sydney Cook, University of Nebraska at Kearney ($1,000)
  • Juliana Kensell, University of Nebraska at Kearney ($1,000)
  • Tyler Eubanks, University of Nebraska at Kearney ($500)

For more information on the AAF Nebraska scholarship programs, visit www.aafnebraska.org or contact the AAF Nebraska office at 402.401.4273.

Sarah Lacey-Ervine
Creighton University
Paige Brophy
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Amalia Hidalgo
Union College
Sydney Cook
University of Nebraska at Kearney
Juliana Kensell
University of Nebraska at Kearney
Tyler Eubanks
University of Nebraska at Kearney
Emily Bray
University of Nebraska – Lincoln

Along with scholarship winners AAF Nebraska honored two national ADDY winners on August 15th during the Annual Meeting. Rachel Dempsey and Anna Dimig both recent graduates from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln both were awarded national ADDYs in June during the AAF national conference ADMERICA in St. Louis, MO. 

Rachel graduated from UNL in December of 2022. Her majors were Graphic Design; Advertising & Public Relations. Rachel is a Multimedia Designer at Pixel Bakery in Lincoln. Her passion is to create, she loves anything and everything when it comes to art & design, and someday wants to own her own business. Rachel won a Gold ADDY for her entry, Magazine Design “UGH! MY TUMMY HURTS AGAIN ZINE”.

Anna is a recent spring graduate from UNL. She received a Bachelor of Arts degree in graphic design and a Bachelor of Journalism in advertising/public relations. Anna discovered her passion for design during her sophomore year of high school. She is eager to see where her dreams and the skills she has learned so far will take her in the future. Anna is currently a Design & Motion Graphics Intern at Bailey Lauerman. Last month Anna volunteered as a Student Ambassador for AAF Nebraska during ON Brand 2023 here in Omaha.
Anna won a Silver ADDY for her entry, Guerilla Marketing – Installations and Events – Single Occurrence or Installation “P.S. I Love You”.
Anna’s work and UNL Capstone project can be found here:  Anna Dimig | UNL Capstone (unldesign.com)

A special day of tours was planned for our scholarship winners and national ADDY winners after the program on August 15th.

For more information on the AAF Nebraska scholarship programs and the American Advertising Awards visit www.aafnebraska.org or contact the AAF Nebraska office at 402.401.4273.


With more than 275 professional and student members, the American Advertising Federation Nebraska (AAF Nebraska) is the unifying voice for advertising in Nebraska. AAF Nebraska offers an organization to educate, inspire and bring an inclusive sense of community to the advertising professionals of Nebraska so that we, and future generations, can continue to do the work we love.


AAF Nebraska NewsPress Releases

Get In Touch

Please enable JavaScript in your browser to complete this form.